Sacraments are important for Catholics, and to be Catholic. They symbolise different aspects and teachings of Jesus, like coming to us through cleansing water, welcoming us with invigorating oil, offering life-giving bread and wine, providing a hand outstretched in forgiveness, vows lovingly exchanged in marriage, a hand designating someone for ordained service and oil to strengthen the sick and comfort the dying.

The seven Sacraments are ceremonies that point to what is sacred, significant and important for Catholics. These seven sacraments are:

  1. The Sacrament of Baptism
  2. The Sacrament of Confirmation
  3. The Sacrament of Holy Communion (known as First Eucharist or First Holy Communion for first timers)
  4. The Sacrament of Reconciliation (Confession)
  5. The Sacrament of Marriage
  6. The Sacrament of Holy Orders
  7. The Sacrament of Anointing of the Sick